Tuesday, February 11, 2014

Review: Maybe One Day by Melissa Kantor

Maybe One Day
Maybe One Day by Melissa Kantor
Critically acclaimed author Melissa Kantor masterfully captures the joy of friendship, the agony of loss, and the unique experience of being a teenager in this poignant new novel about a girl grappling with her best friend's life-threatening illness.
Zoe and her best friend, Olivia, have always had big plans for the future, none of which included Olivia getting sick. Still, Zoe is determined to put on a brave face and be positive for her friend.
Even when she isn't sure what to say.
Even when Olivia misses months of school.
Even when Zoe starts falling for Calvin, Olivia's crush.
The one thing that keeps Zoe moving forward is knowing that Olivia will beat this, and everything will go back to the way it was before. It has to. Because the alternative is too terrifying for her to even imagine.
In this incandescent page-turner, which follows in the tradition of The Fault in Our Stars, Melissa Kantor artfully explores the idea that the worst thing to happen to you might not be something that is actually happening to you. Raw, irreverent, and honest, Zoe's unforgettable voice and story will stay with readers long after the last page is turned.
Publishes in US:  February 18th 2014 by HarperTeen
Genre: YA Contemp
Source: Harper Teen
Series? No.

Buy it: www.amazon.com www.barnesandnoble.com

Author stalk away: ~site ~twitter ~facebook ~blog

    I wanted to read Maybe One Day because I am drawn to stories about sickness and cancer and always have been since I was a preteen and devoured Lurlene McDaniel. So I was thrilled when my diva at Harper Teen sent me a copy. I am pretty sure there was dancing involved when I got that envelop. 
    Maybe One Day was above all else, a story about friendship. Zoe and Olivia has that special bond of being friends for years and continuing that relationship in high school. They have inside jokes, countless hours spent together and that sisterhood without the rivalry that is so sweet. 
    This, of course, has an emotional punch. We see both Olivia and Zoe dealing with the illness and the fallout--nausea, hair falling out, strain on their relationship, how Zoe has the wild mood swings as she tries to come to term with the fact that her closest friend has a serious illness and that she could die. Things that teenagers shouldn't have to worry about, but in real life, sometimes come face to face with. 
    I like that Melissa Kantor wrote layers into the story though. The girls had been dancing together for years, part of what made them so close and had so much in common, and sadly, they were talented, but not enough to continue to study at the prestigious school they were attending. 
    The romance isn't in your face, but it is there, and I def find myself conflicted at the circumstances on how it developed but part of me was certainly pulling for it because of their chemistry as well as the things they had dealt with together. 
    I couldn't put this one down, even though emotional, Zoe is snarky and stubborn but loyal and she cares so deeply. I got lost in her voice, and everything she was doing to continue to be Livvie's best friend. She sees and deals with things that I don't know if I could personally but she tries to be strong and she does the best she can, but it is always by Livvie's side. 
    I loved seeing Zoe interact with the kids. That was priceless, and I loved the give and take, what they each had to offer, even though not perfect and never under the best of circumstances. But it gives the book another unique twist, and shows Zoe something to do for Livvie as well as brings back something she thought she'd never do or love again. 
    The ending was so sad, but perfect I think for the book and the themes. I always want the HEA, but sometimes the bittersweet is the only way to go because of the odds and where the author is going. 

Bottom Line: Emotional tearjerker that is more than a girl with cancer, it is a story of friendship.

Books similar to Maybe One Day :(links go to my review) The f it list by Julie HalpernThe Fault in Our Stars by John Green, Anthem for Jackson Dawes by Celia Bryce,

My question to you, my lovely readers:
Can you think of something that would greatly effect your life, but would actually be happening to someone else?
Follow on Bloglovin


  1. I absolutely loved this book too Brandi, I quite like reading books which are emotionally overwhelming, so this book definitely hit the right spot. Fab review!

  2. Aw, yay! Amazing review. <3 Glad you mostly loved it :) I'm dying to read it, though I haven't gotten to it yet (A) but I do have it via edelweiss, so will read it one of these days ;p Glad the romance is good as well. <3

  3. I'm a fan of books that deal with terminal illness as well. I'm not sure why. It's like a morbid fascination for me. I'm glad you loved this one. I'm going to keep my eye out for it, for sure.

  4. This sounds like such an emotional book. I'm glad there is such a strong theme of friendship. We all need someone to stand by us in the hard times.

  5. I'll be reading this soon an it sounds like a very interesting and emotional read.

    Kate @ Ex Libris

  6. Ohh, cancer's pretty much made my life hellish in the past few months, so I can't read this. I'm glad you enjoyed it, though.

  7. I'm glad you liked this one and couldn't put it down, plus the romance in these cases is always painful (which, is so my thing. painful romances? I'm weird, I know.), but I have read so many DNF reviews and since things there were explained about why it all ended up with DNF-ing, I just don't want to read this book. It wasn't on my tbr to begin with and even a million 5 star reviews could convince me to put it there. Glad you enjoyed it though!

  8. this sounds great! as for your question, someone being an alcoholic in your family.

  9. Gosh, Brandi...this sounds deep and powerful. I'm glad you loved it and I'm adding it to my tbr. Lovely review!

  10. Bittersweet you say, I do wonder now

  11. Ahhh this sounds so good! This is a great review!!!! Adding this to my tbr immediately!!

  12. Not for me..i would be crying like a baby no matter how sweet it is. I am so glad you enjoyed this one Brandi!

  13. Yes, if a family member was dying of something, it doesn't happen to me, yet I would feel it profoundly.

    The Fault in Our Stars made me cry so much, I don't know if I can take another one right now. I have several on my shelves that I still need to read. I'm glad you enjoyed it.

  14. I do love emotional books (TFIOS made me cry like a baby, but I loved it anyways). So I might have to pick this one up, I love a book like this every once in a while!

    Great review!

    And do your question, yes! I'm an emotional person, so I cry at the drop of a hate..... haha

  15. Oh no this is so not for me. I cannot do the cancer books! Glad it was a good read for you!

  16. I'm scared to read this one because I know it's going to make me cry like a baby, but it sounds so good! Glad you enjoyed it. :-)

  17. I want to read this so bad now after reading your wonderful review. I'm so excited now to read this. Thank you for sharing.Good Books To Read

  18. It's been a long time since I've read something like this. I think I will look for something like in my TBR

  19. I was looking forward to this already but now I am super excited for it. It sounds amazing and I'm glad it lives up to the hype.

  20. I don't think I could read so many sad books... I love to read one from time to time but it would be too difficult if often.

  21. So many are loving this book. I do like the concept of such a great friendship but hate the cancer part.

  22. I want to read this book I do, but at the moment it hits so close to home that I don't think I'll be able to pick it up for months to come :( I know lots of loved it. Very emotional.

  23. I've been anticipating this book. It looks so, so good. I love bittersweet stories that jerk at my heartstrings, especially when there's a strong friendship in the mix. Lovely review, Brandi!

  24. I'm thinking of buying this one this week when I go to the signing (I don't think I'll have enough money for everyone's books). It definitely sounds like something I would really enjoy even if it hurt my heart in the process. Great review Brandi!


I would love to hear from you! (I always try to visit your blog back) I love links, so feel free to link to your blog or a post you like.
Sorry, but I am award and tag free zone, I do not have the time to return. Comments are reward enough :)