Monday, July 27, 2015

Review: A Million Times Goodnight by Kristina McBride

A Million Times Goodnight by Kristina McBride
A teen Sliding Doors. One choice creates parallel dual narratives in this romantic contemporary mystery-thriller perfect for fans of Just Like Fate and Pivot Point.
One Night. Two Paths. Infinite Danger.
On the night of the big Spring Break party, Hadley "borrows" her boyfriend Ben's car without telling him. As payback, he posts a naked picture of her online for the entire senior class to see.
Now Hadley has a choice: go back to the party and force Ben to delete the picture or raise the stakes and take his beloved car on a road trip as far away from their hometown of Oak Grove, Ohio, as she can get.
Chapters alternate to reveal each possible future as Hadley, her ex-boyfriend, Josh, and her best friends embark on a night of reckless adventure where old feelings are rekindled, friendships are tested, and secrets are uncovered that are so much worse than a scandalous photo.


Publishes in US: July 28th 2015 by Egmont USA
Genre: ya scifi alternate/parallel universe
Source: Edmont via Netgalley
Series? no
Other reviews of Kristina's books:
One Moment 

Buy it: Amazon IndieBound Book Depository B&N

Author stalk away: ~site 


    I wanted to read A Million Times Goodnight because I love the concept of parallel universe or alternate stories based on the effects of one choice versus another. I loved Pivot Point as well, so the comparison there also helped. 

   Hadley, our main character, starts out the story with two of her friends, they've borrowed her boyfriend's car to go to a place where a girl they were friends with died a year ago. And I use the term borrowed lightly, because as we find out he is not aware that she's taken it, and they are also not on the best terms. Not that that gives him any right for the picture of her half nude and posting on facebook. I get that teens do ridiculous things without thinking, but it was hard for me to accept that he made such an extreme choice. 

   Her choices: take the car back and in doing so bring a boy )that has a history that is hinted at with Hadley but we obviously don't know the whole story) with her to make him jealous or going on a road trip with said stolen/borrowed car. Now, of course neither of these are wonderful choices, but they are the two that the story focuses on and the two different paths that are played out. 

    The story line with the pictures went much deeper than I thought and it exposed Ben as even more of a jerk than you would think at first. There was also a lot to untangle with the history and current tension between her and Josh. A Million Times Goodnight is well paced, and the mysteries kept me reading.

    I liked the friendship story line with her and Mia and Brooklyn. Also you could tell that she used to be good friends with the girl who died penny. And for even more more suspense, everyone blames Josh and I was wrapped up in the reason why and why Hadley blamed herself.

    I had to take off half a star though because of the ending. It felt a little rushed to me. It did answer the questions that I had, and also brought justice to those needing it. And I also did like the way that the two parallel "universes" were brought together, making it feel more like a contemporary than sci-fi. There was so much build up though that it just felt like the ending pieces needed more fleshing out to me.
Bottom Line: Good exploration of two possible what ifs.

My question to you, my lovely readers:
Do you think out possibilities of different futures often for your choices?

No comments:

Post a Comment

I would love to hear from you! (I always try to visit your blog back) I love links, so feel free to link to your blog or a post you like.
Sorry, but I am award and tag free zone, I do not have the time to return. Comments are reward enough :)