Friday, September 5, 2014

Kiss of Broken Glass by Madeleine Kuderick review Goodreads update style

Kiss of Broken Glass
Kiss of Broken Glass by Madeleine Kuderick
Madeleine Kuderick’s gripping debut is a darkly beautiful and lyrical novel in verse, perfect for fans of Sonya Sones and Laurie Halse Anderson. Kiss of Broken Glass pulses with emotion and lingers long after the last page.
In the next seventy-two hours, Kenna may lose everything—her friends, her freedom, and maybe even herself. One kiss of the blade was all it took to get her sent to the psych ward for seventy-two hours. There she will face her addiction to cutting, though the outcome is far from certain.
When fifteen-year-old Kenna is found cutting herself in the school bathroom, she is sent to a facility for mandatory psychiatric watch. There, Kenna meets other kids like her—her roommate, Donya, who’s there for her fifth time; the birdlike Skylar; and Jag, a boy cute enough to make her forget her problems . . . for a moment.

Publishes in US: September 9th 2014 by HarperTeen
Genre: YA Contemp
Source: arc from harper teen in exchange for honest review
Series? No

Buy it: Order on AmazonOrder at Barnes & NobleOrder at Books A MillionOrder at Indie Bound

Author stalk away: ~site facebook  tumblr blk  twitter blk


    Yeah. Don't feel like doing normal format. 


I'm starting Kiss of Broken Glass: Okay... When I requested to begin with, it didn't say anything about being in verse.... But this is a subject close to my heart, so I am trying to go in with open mind, and go ahead and connect with kenna before I begin

page 9
4.0%"KoBG (title) is tighter than some of the other poetry books I have read. Making it pretty easy for me to follow along and not be confused at what is actually going on. Still not my fave medium but I think I will be finishing"

page 14
6.0%"Wondering what the Baker Act is its been mentioned several times... Said its Florida based. Thank you wikipedia... its an act that allows involuntary psych admission."

page 60
26.0%"Love her thought patterns and how realistic this book is. Shows how much she craves to cut and that it is something that buries in the mind and takes over life."

66.0%"Flying through. Love the group interaction and her and jag. Nothing major there, but still"

page 175
78.0%"Peer pressure sucks. It comes out her reasons for starting to cut... And the back of the book where it talks about she didn't have absent parents, no abuse, no sexual assault... Her reasons were different, and I can totally see how she could have felt like she had no other choice. Her friend Rennie took her under wing and helped her be in the popular circle, but its deeper than that."

page 210
93.0%"I loved the butterfly from another person in the ward. The premise was to draw a butterfly on wrists or where you cut and then name it. Makes it harder with a name to cut there in theory. Never heard of a strategy like that but thought it was beautiful."

page 223
99.0%"The ending is realistic. The book takes place in a span of 72 hours. So Kenna learned a few skills, and thought more about her reasonings. But there was no magic cure. She is sent home and told that relapse is normal... So we have hope that she has the skills to learn to stop cutting."

Overall, enjoyed this. The verse worked for me here and I came away feeling emotional but sense of hope.

Bottom Line: Surprised me that I connected to a main character in a book told in verse.

My question to you, my lovely readers:
Have you ever dealt with self harm yourself or friend or family? (feel free to ignore if too personal)


  1. Oh it's a fun review! I'm glad that in a whole it was ok. thanks for the discovery.

  2. I love this format for a review! Fun and different. I have a copy of this, but my reasons for putting it off are more about the subject matter than the format of the story. I actually enjoy verse novels. Great review, Brandi! I may try this sometime! :)

  3. I've considered doing this before, and love the format. I like books in verse, and am glad you enjoyed this!

  4. I really enjoyed this one, even if I had a few issues with it. It's definitely personal, and I loved how it was done in verse really, it gives you that detached feeling so it's not totally overwhelming that way, but in a sense, also more get into her head. And it was a quick read too, and pretty addicting considering it is in verse (which, I usually don't like.) :)

  5. Sometimes status updates are a great way to go because they are written in the moment, and represent your overall thoughts better than a review that's written days after the fact. I've dealt with self-harm among family members way more often that I would like, but unfortunately it comes with a history of depression in the gene pool. I hope your surgery went well!

  6. I have this one and it sounds like I need to move it up my pile! I didn't realize it was written in verse.

  7. I haven't ever read a book in verse ,I keep meaning to try.... anyway this sounds like an impactful and important read. I am glad that it worked for you.

  8. Hm, I'm not sure how I feel about book sin verse. I have only read one like this, but it was an okay story. The verse didn't really take anything from the story and I felt like it worked for the book. But I am not sure about others. Maybe I'll try it, maybe I won't.

  9. I've only read one verse book and it was an audio book.I'm glad you enjoyed the book and found it easy to follow. Great review!

  10. Cool format ;) I liked this. It's good to shake things up once in a while

  11. This was cool, and I liked seeing your reactions and thoughts as your reading progressed. I like the butterfly idea.

  12. I'm glad you enjoyed this one and that the verse did work for you! I definitely loved this review! Very unique!

  13. Cool idea Brandi, putting all your comments on like that. Sounds like an emotional read.

    Naomi @ Nomi’s Paranormal Palace

  14. Verse book! Sounds intense, but worth reading. Nice GR style review :D


I would love to hear from you! (I always try to visit your blog back) I love links, so feel free to link to your blog or a post you like.
Sorry, but I am award and tag free zone, I do not have the time to return. Comments are reward enough :)