Tuesday, April 23, 2013

Review: The Ward by Jordana Frankel

The Ward
The Ward Jordana Frankel
Sixteen-year-old Ren is a daredevil mobile racer who will risk everything to survive in the Ward, what remains of a water-logged Manhattan. To save her sister, who is suffering from a deadly illness thought to be caused by years of pollution, Ren accepts a secret mission from the government: to search for a freshwater source in the Ward, with the hope of it leading to a cure.
However, she never expects that her search will lead to dangerous encounters with a passionate young scientist; a web of deceit and lies; and an earth-shattering mystery that’s lurking deep beneath the water’s rippling surface.
Jordana Frankel’s ambitious debut novel and the first in a two-book series, The Ward is arresting, cinematic, and thrilling—perfect for fans of Scott Westerfeld or Ann Aguirre.
”add
Publishes in US: April 30th 2013 by Katherine Tegen Books (harper collins)
Genre: YA dystopia
Source: Harper Collins via Edelweiss
Series? Yes. 1st of 2.

Buy it:  Amazon  Barnes & Noble  IndieBound  BookDepository.com

Find Jordana online: site   twitter   facebook  blog 

  
What I liked:
 Ren's strength: She knew how to work hard, she made courageous moves.
Her loyalty to her "sister" Aven. Ren met her when they were in the orphanage, she was Ren's first friend, and Ren worked so hard to find her after they were seperated. Aven is sick and Ren does the races, and she is a mole because she works for medicine.
The spark between Ren and Derek. It was very subtle and it didn't overpower the story at all. It was an almost there thing.

What I didn't like:
The lack of world building. For me, I just didn't understand this washed out world. What caused it, how it is different, and more about the disease. We find out a little more as the story goes on, but I was very confused a lot in the beginning.
The language wasn't well defined and I didn't know where the words were coming from. Seemed out of context.
The amount of technical description, especially of the mobile racers. It completely was over my head.
The descriptions of the action didn't sit right with me. I didn't know what was going on.

Bottom Line: Good premise but didn't blow me away.

My question to you, my lovely readers:
Under what circumstances would you be a mole?

46 comments:

  1. I really wanted to enjoy this one too. There are so many questions of the why's that just weren't answered. Maybe the next one will answer them. *shrugs* Great review. :D

    Jenea @ Books Live Forever

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I don't know if I'll pick it up, but I am hoping it will

      Delete
  2. Your book review was really awesome, I have bookmarked you and will remain in line with your new posts.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I've been really curious about this book for some time now. But I haven't decided whether or not I want to read it. Sorry you didn't like it as much, but great review Brandi :)

    Janina @ Synchonized Reading

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. THanks. Maybe I wasn't in the right mood, who knows

      Delete
  4. I have been in love with the cover of this one but, I have heard that the world building isn't believable and that is usually really important for a dystopian. Thanks for your thoughts!

    Kristin @ Young Adult Book Haven

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It is essential for dystopia. I fell for cover some too

      Delete
  5. Trying to decide whether to give this one a try. I'm a little burned out on dystopians, and I often struggle with books that are confusing and/or have world building that doesn't add up.
    Thanks for giving me more information!

    You can find me here: Jen @ YA Romantics

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. If you are burned out, might not be a good pick

      Delete
  6. This doesn't seem to be doing too well. World-building is crucial for me in book like this, so I think I'll pass for the time being. Sorry it didn't completely satisfy, Brandi. Great review!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. yeah, I hate that its not, I wanted to like it more

      Delete
  7. I've just finished this book today!! I totally agree with everything you said. I wished I could know more about the rest of the world, If it even exists in the future.
    What I loved about this book were the action scenes.
    You cab check out my review on my blog (:

    Sapir @ Diary of a Wimpy Teen Girl

    ReplyDelete
  8. What a shame! World-building is also very important to me. :(

    ReplyDelete
  9. I'm surprised that this one lacked worldbuilding. You need that in this genre. The flow also doesn't seem to be there. Too bad, it looked promising.

    ReplyDelete
  10. Not for me then, I need strong world building

    ReplyDelete
  11. I think I'd like to read about the sibling relationship but I don't know if I'd enjoy reading the story when the description is heavy on the technical side. Thanks for sharing, Brandi!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. In relation to your question, I don't think I'd ever be a mole but I like stories that talk about spies and secret missions :)

      Delete
    2. I suppose it depends on how you look at it mole or secret agent ;)

      Delete
  12. This comment has been removed by the author.

    ReplyDelete
  13. I'm not a fan of not being able to follow along in the book. I don't like it if the language is above my head because it makes the flow slow down too much for me. The whole concept of being a mole to save her sister sounds fun, but I'm sorry there were so many drawbacks. I would be a mole to save anyone that I love. Jaclyn @ JC's Book Haven

    ReplyDelete
  14. Two books so close together that you didn't like, aw. I'm still curious about this book, I like the cover and the plot looks interesting. Would I be a mole? It depends on the consequences of it, and if there was someone I had to save or a very important reason then I probably would.

    ReplyDelete
  15. oh it's difficult when you enter a world you don't really inderstand. Mainly a book like that where it's really important. Sorry it wasn't for you...

    ReplyDelete
  16. Most of the reviews have stated that the world-building was lacking in this book. Sorry you didn't love it so much.
    Great review!

    ReplyDelete
  17. Aww, too bad. Lack of world building is something that bothers me in books. The romance sounds nicely done, though.

    Thanks for your honest thoughts :)

    ReplyDelete
  18. I've heard many things similar to what you said. Basically a pretty cover and good blurb, but the content inside is really lacking. Too bad, I was looking forward to this one. Great review!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Me too, so sad. I am sure some will like it though

      Delete
  19. I am not especially brave, nor a daredevil. I am very cautious to the point of paranoia so I can't think of any circumstance where I'd be a mole. The only situation where I might be, is if my husband or children's life depended on it. Then I might be a mole, but I'm a big anxiety ridden, rule following, authority abiding, chicken to the core.

    Think I'll pass on this one. I need to know even the barest of reasons why the world has come to such dire circumstances. And if not, then the character development has to be strong enough to carry the book. Thanks for your honest reviews!

    Heather

    ReplyDelete
  20. Doesn't sound like the best book for me, but I'm glad there were some things you enjoyed! It's cool it's only a two-book series too. Longer series are rough.

    ReplyDelete
  21. Uh oh, world building is a MAJOR deal to me, especially in dystopians, so it really doesn't sound encouraging that this one was sort of lacking on that front. It's just a major blow in my eyes for this book, unfortunately. Ah, oh well, maybe I'll keep this one on my maybe list because it sound like it does have some good going for it. Thanks for the review, Brandi!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. There is some good, just not enough for me to love it

      Delete
  22. Another one bites the dust.

    This is the 6th review from a friend who said the world building was horrible. That's too bad, this sounded so good.

    ReplyDelete
  23. Looks like a good dystopian, shame it wasn't your cup of tea :/ Thanks for a honest review. I love your blog and I was wondering if you'd be interested in a button swap. I just put yours up, thanks for your lovely comment.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Sure thing. Putting yours up now. I do mine on the blog roll page though, hope that is okay.

      Delete
  24. Ergh, the lack of world building can ruin a book for me. If it's not there and I can't get into it - it makes it so hard to finish it.

    - Jessica @ Book Sake

    ReplyDelete
  25. Ahh too bad that this book was a disappointment! I was so curious about it. Well another one bites the dust...

    ReplyDelete
  26. I received this through Edelweiss, but haven't gotten around to it yet. Thanks for sharing your review!

    ReplyDelete
  27. Awww you are another one who thought it was just ok. I have it to read via Edelweiss, I was so excited to read it when I saw it there a while back. But it is getting a luke warm response. I must read it now to see how I feel :)

    Mich

    ReplyDelete
  28. Dystopian books don't really do it for me, add in the lack of world building and over the top wording, it makes it sound like a snoozer. Thanks for the honest review, I think I'll pass on this one!

    ReplyDelete
  29. Lack of world building really does break a potentially great novel. Without it, especially in a futuristic world, the reader has no idea what to envision in their head and the story line won't make much sense. At least that is how it is for me. Great and clear world building is crucial to me. I love a novel where the boy/girl relationship is subtle and more of a "in the background" kind of thing. I like where there are some romantic elements but they aren't the focus, especially in a type of book like this. If it's a contemporary YA novel, then sure, bring on the romance. But in a survival/dystopian/futuristic novel, it'll take away from the overall struggle and premise. Thanks for the review!

    ReplyDelete
  30. Another one on my never-ending tbr list, too bad the world building want so great. I'll have to reconsider picking this one up, perhaps a trip to the library for this one, just in case :) great review Brandi

    Neyra @ Addictions Book Reviews

    ReplyDelete

I would love to hear from you! (I always try to visit your blog back) I love links, so feel free to link to your blog or a post you like.
Sorry, but I am award and tag free zone, I do not have the time to return. Comments are reward enough :)