Monday, July 14, 2014

Review: What I Thought Was True by Huntley Fitzpatrick

What I Thought Was True
What I Thought Was True by Huntley Fitzpatrick
From the author of My Life Next Door comes a swoony summertime romance full of expectation and regret, humor and hard questions.
Gwen Castle's Biggest Mistake Ever, Cassidy Somers, is slumming it as a yard boy on her Nantucket-esque island this summer. He's a rich kid from across the bridge in Stony Bay, and she hails from a family of fishermen and housecleaners who keep the island's summer people happy. Gwen worries a life of cleaning houses will be her fate too, but just when it looks like she'll never escape her past—or the island—Gwen's dad gives her some shocking advice. Sparks fly and secret histories unspool as Gwen spends a gorgeous, restless summer struggling to resolve what she thought was true—about the place she lives, the people she loves, and even herself—with what really is.
A magnetic, push-me-pull-me romance with depth, this is for fans of Sarah Dessen, Jenny Han, and Deb Caletti.

”add

Publishes in US: April 15th 2014 by Dial Books for Young Readers
Genre: YA contemp
Source: library
Series? no

Buy it:  AMAZON | BARNES & NOBLE | INDIEBOUND

Author stalk away: Site Facebook Twitter

 

    I wanted to read What I Thought Was True because I read and adored My Life Next Door. I was needing something mostly light but had depth and emotion under the surface. 

    I liked Gwen and her voice. There is obvious history with her and how she relates with others from her school, especially boys, and I wanted to know the details. I also liked her best friend and their conversations. She is real and they both seem like people that I could have been friends with in high school. But as the book progresses I ended up having issues with some of the actions.

    I could also relate to how Gwen hopes for more for her future, but feeling held down by family and their economic status. But for all of the reasons that I might be emotionally invested in her, I just wasn't. I kept finding other things to do after laying down. Nothing bad, just nothing that was screaming pick me up and read me. I think that it was too long and it tried to flesh out characters and plots that took too long to set up and demand my heart and attention. 

    Getting the history to finding out the dynamics of Gwen and Cass as well as her reputation was slow in coming. I think that is one reason that I didn't get into this one more than I did. I def liked her other book a lot better than this one. Though I connected with Gwen, I think that between her younger brother with special needs, Alex who comes on scene, Liv and Nico her cousin, and then her past with Cass, and the current I have no idea if they are flirting or he feels guilty dynamic at first made it harder for me to love this one more. 

    I did like that the family closeness with Gwen and her dad as well as them and Emory, the younger brother who needs more love and attention, lots of patience and just a love for kids. 
   

Buddies who loved it:

Bottom Line: Okay to me, but loved her first book more and expected more.

My question to you, my lovely readers:
Did you want to leave the town you grew up in?
Follow on Bloglovin

27 comments:

  1. Hmm, that sucks. sounds like I wouldn't like this either.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I agree with you, this book wasn't even close to My Life Next Door. I expected so much.
    About leaving town, I wanted when I was younger, even now sometimes.

    ReplyDelete
  3. kirstymariejonesstudioreadsJuly 14, 2014 at 10:48 AM

    Sounds like mixed feelings with this one, it's a shame though when you've loved one of their books and then a new one comes out and you're all excited and then it's a disappointment. :( With contemporaries, I need that extra something to keep reading, and the fact that that once you put it down you weren't too bothered, would probably bore me. I read one the other day that I just couldn't put down at all, and though I probably should've to sleep, didn't, haha. I still live in the town I grew up in, though I want to leave all the time.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Wow I had high hopes for this book but it does not sound that great at all. I guess I will stick to My Life Next Door.

    -Chioma @ Blue Books and Butterflies

    ReplyDelete
  5. This one does sound like an enjoyable read and though it wasn't that great for you, glad it was still an okay read! It is also hard for me to get into a book that takes awhile to build into the meat of the plot.


    And I definitely loved her first book! Not sure if I'll pick this one up, but I might :)


    Great review!

    ReplyDelete
  6. Oh, your blog looks so different :) I like it! I adored MLND too! I've heard though that this isn't as satisfying and I can see that from your rating and review. Sorry it was so slow that it was hard to get into. I hope I have better luck with it and the slow pacing suits me more.

    ReplyDelete
  7. It is so hard when you loved a previous book. Sorry this one had issues for you Brandi. The blog is looking good.

    ReplyDelete
  8. I have wanted to read this author, and I had high hopes for this one, but a lot of reviewers aren't overly impressed as you weren't so I think I will go back and read her first book instead. I like your new look!

    ReplyDelete
  9. I was all where am I! Oh duh, then I saw the new name

    ReplyDelete
  10. Oh, wow! Look who's getting a new makeover, I thought I was in the wrong place there for a second. LOL Very nice! :)

    Sorry to hear that this book failed to live up to My Life Next Door.

    ReplyDelete
  11. Loving what you've done to the blog so far....I am getting ready to do some changes on some of mine, too.

    I haven't read this author, but I am curious about the first book that you liked.

    ReplyDelete
  12. It looks great in here, Brandi! So sad you didn't like this book as much as I did. But oh well, I can see why though.

    ReplyDelete
  13. Love the new look AND name and I did leave the town I grew up in. Location! Location! Location!

    ReplyDelete
  14. I've been very anxious to read a Fitzpatrick book. I'm sorry this one didn't work out for you, Brandi!

    ReplyDelete
  15. I liked her first one more as well. This wasn't a bad read and I liked it okay but it definitely didn't blow me away.

    ReplyDelete
  16. I'm sorry this wasn't what you were expecting, Brandi. I'm glad there were a few redeeming elements with respect to Gwen. Hopefully your next read will be great!

    By the way, I love your new look!! :)

    ReplyDelete
  17. I totally agree with you here. Huntley Fitzpatrick really did better with her first book. This one was very dull compared and it had a no-point plot--something I'm not looking for in a book. Great review, and look luck with your next read!

    ReplyDelete
  18. I'm sorry this was a bit of a let down, Brandi. I loved Huntley's first book too, but I've been holding off on this one, and I'm thinking I'll continue to. And I didn't set out to leave my hometown, but I did ;)

    ReplyDelete
  19. I felt the same way. Something lacked for me. It wasn't bad but I didn't connect with it, and I didn't really like the sub-plot.

    ReplyDelete
  20. I definitely agree with you. It was slow in some parts and something was missing. It was still an enjoyable read!

    ReplyDelete
  21. Oh, that's too bad-I'm sorry this one wasn't all you hoped it to be. I've heard wonderful things about My Life Next Door, though. Thanks for sharing the thoughtful review, Brandi :)

    PS Love the *new name* you picked!!

    ReplyDelete
  22. I loved my Life Next Door but when i picked up this one i liked it enough but felt like there was something holding me back from fully loving it. I liked Gwen enough and could sympathize with her but i never felt like I truly connected with her like I could have. There was just something about Gwen that was holding me back from fully loving her :(

    ReplyDelete
  23. There's nothing more disappointing than when you LOVE a book by an author, grab another one of their titles, and it ends up falling short. :(

    ReplyDelete
  24. I've heard a lot about My Life Next Door. It sounds like a book that I need to pick up! I'm sorry that this one didn't live up to your expectations. It sounds like there is a lot going on in this one that just wasn't working for you. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on this!

    ReplyDelete
  25. Oh I'm sorry it wasn't what you were expecting mainly as you loved another of her books...

    ReplyDelete
  26. No, I didn't want to leave the town I grew up in, but we did anyway and moved to another country! Although for university I want to move back to my home country, I doubt I will go back to the same town. Being older now I can see it wasn't for me.
    This book doesn't seem too much up my street. I've only read one Sarah Dessen book, but I hated it, and this just doesn't sound intriguing enough...

    ReplyDelete

I would love to hear from you! (I always try to visit your blog back) I love links, so feel free to link to your blog or a post you like.
Sorry, but I am award and tag free zone, I do not have the time to return. Comments are reward enough :)