Thursday, May 15, 2014

Review: Renegade by Debra Driza


Renegade (MILA 2.0, #2) 
Renegade (MILA 2.0, #2) by Debra Driza
There is no one left for Mila to trust. Except for a boy she barely knows.
But Hunter has no idea who—and what—Mila really is. She can’t bear to reveal her secret, even though he’s unwittingly joined her search for Richard Grady, a man who may know more details of Mila’s complicated past.
Yet the road to the truth is more dangerous than ever. With General Holland and the Vita Obscura scouring the earth for her whereabouts, Mila must rely on her newfound android abilities to protect herself and Hunter from imminent harm. Still, embracing her identity as a machine leads her to question the state of her humanity—as well as Hunter’s real motives.
Perfect for fans of I Am Number Four and Divergent, this action-packed and heart-wrenching second installment of MILA 2.0 will leave readers breathlessly awaiting the series conclusion

Publishes in US: May 13th 2014 by Katherine Tegen Books
Genre: YA scifi
Source: Harper Teen
Series? MILA 2.0 #2

Buy it: Amazon Barnes & Noble  IndieBound  Book Depository

Author stalk away: site   twitter

 
    I wanted to read Renegade because I enjoyed the first book, and wanted to continue with the series. I don't remember much about Mila 2.0 except I liked Mila and her struggle with discovering she isn't human. I remember liking the action, plot as well as wishing she would pick a guy and really fall for him, and by synopsis of Renegade, it seems like it may be Hunter. 
   Renegade starts out slowly and with Mila and Hunter on the road. Traveling aspects of books can sometimes be hard for me and I think that might play into it as well as not having time to reread the first. We get a decent recap without feeling like an info dump, but I still felt a little lost, and I was getting dejavu from Hunted by Kade because of the not completely human aspect, betrayals by parents and off to hide or find someone with a boy. 
    I got through that though, and remembered why I liked Mila. She's strong and analytic, but she still has a lot of feelings. She ends up not telling the whole truth to Hunter because she is afraid and also trying to protect him, but she keeps doing little things to give him clues that something more is going on that he doesn't know about. He is a strong presence for her, giving her comfort, joking with her, and generally keeping her company, making her feel like someone is in her corner. They have a chemistry and a lot of tension because they are taking things slowly and every time they dated in the first book something went wrong and interrupted them and now she is on high alert. 
      There were done unexpected twists and I was doubting someone that I never thought I would. There were also people involved that I never would have guessed. This made the last half really fly by because I had to see what surprises I would find next. Out is revealed more about Mila and how she works as well as how she was made and get purpose. Though part of the big reveal tho Mila herself I guessed pretty early on butt I don't know I'd that was the point. 
        The ending raced to a dramatic conclusion and one he'll of a cliff hanger. It was one of those moments wee you are sure the author just left out about one hundred or so pages because you can't leave a reader in suspense like that. I will definitely be reading the next in the series tho find plot more about Mila, about Hunter and his reaction to dating an android as well as Lucas who made a last minute appearance. 
   

Bottom Line: good second book: surprises, romance and action.

My question to you, my lovely readers:
Who is the first person you'd call when in trouble?
Follow on Bloglovin

26 comments:

  1. So, yeah. I read and enjoyed the first book, but I've been kind of on the fence about this one . . . with the cliffhanger, I'm definitely going to be waiting for the rest of the installments before continuing this one. I only go willingly into a cliffhanger if it's one of my absolute favorite authors . . . or if I don't know it's a cliffhanger (then I run around warning everyone, LOL). And I call my Momma! Well, that's not completely true. If my car breaks down or something like that, I call my husband, but for non-technical or mechanical advice---Mom ;)

    ReplyDelete
  2. This sounds good other than the cliffhanger ending, but it's hard to avoid those nowadays. Thanks for sharing!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Jenea WhittingtonMay 15, 2014 at 12:15 PM

    I haven't been able to get a copy of the first book from my library yet, hopefully soon though. I'm glad that this is a good sequel though. I was sent a copy of it. :)

    ReplyDelete
  4. I can't wait to get my hands on the first book! (still). When I'm in trouble the first thing I do is pray, and then I call my mum. One time I got hit by a car and my phone was out of money... that was when I was most afraid!

    http://olivia-savannah.blogspot.nl/2014/05/the-recruit-book-review.html

    ReplyDelete
  5. That's why I'd rather binge on a series coz I tend to forget details and with the amount of books I read, it's so easy to get shit mixed up. At least you still managed to enjoy this even if you're groping in the dark in some places

    ReplyDelete
  6. Oh no! A cliffhanger? Ahh well, I still am going to read it anyway, even though I hate being left hanging. :-)

    ReplyDelete
  7. I'm glad you enjoyed Renegade, Brandi. I really enjoyed Mila's character in the first book and how much she just wanted to be like a "normal" girl. I'm excited to dig into this story, the end sounds like a whirlwind and I'm excited to read some of the reveal as to why MILA was created. Great review :)

    ReplyDelete
  8. I haven't had a strong urge to read this serious but I'm a bit more curious now!

    ReplyDelete
  9. Ugh, cliff hangers... they will be the death of me! I'm glad you seemed to enjoy this one! I remember debating picking up the first book. I probably should :)


    Lovely review!

    ReplyDelete
  10. Hmmm….I may have to wait to start this series when all the books are out. Not a fan of big cliffhangers.

    ReplyDelete
  11. Thanks for sharing that there were unexpected twists going on in the sequel. I usually don't mind cliffhanger but if it's colossal, I'll wait and not read the book till the next one comes out.

    ReplyDelete
  12. Andrea @The Bookish BabeMay 15, 2014 at 11:06 PM

    Well, at least the surprises made for a fast and interesting read. Thanks for the review!

    ReplyDelete
  13. I heard so many mixed things about this one... Even if yours is a little better, I think I'll pass.

    ReplyDelete
  14. Probably a good idea, this was a big one

    ReplyDelete
  15. I know, right? And then after all the time waiting, I forget what happened anyways

    ReplyDelete
  16. That is a great point, and I keep saying that I am going to quit starting series unless they're all released, but never stick to it

    ReplyDelete
  17. It was a decent sequel, 1st is better

    ReplyDelete
  18. I thought the fad was starting to fade a little bit

    ReplyDelete
  19. I was alright though ;) We have some nice strangers around and someone let me borrow theirs.

    ReplyDelete

I would love to hear from you! (I always try to visit your blog back) I love links, so feel free to link to your blog or a post you like.
Sorry, but I am award and tag free zone, I do not have the time to return. Comments are reward enough :)