Monday, July 12, 2010

Review: Girl in the Arena

Girl in the Arena by Lisa Haines

Link goes to and description from

It’s a fight to the death—on live TV—when a gladiator’s daughter steps into the arena
Lyn is a neo-gladiator’s daughter, through and through.  Her mother has made a career out of marrying into the high-profile world of televised blood sport, and the rules of the Gladiator Sports Association are second nature to their family.  Always lend ineffable confidence to the gladiator.  Remind him constantly of his victories. And most importantly: Never leave the stadium when your father is dying. The rules help the family survive, but rules—and the GSA—can also turn against you. When a gifted young fighter kills Lyn’s seventh father, he also captures Lyn’s dowry bracelet, which means she must marry him... For fans of The Hunger Games and Fight Club, Lise Haines’ debut novel is a mesmerizing look at a world addicted to violence—a modern world that’s disturbingly easy to imagine.

**My Rating: 4/5**

*My short but sweet review*
Okay so first, I must admit, I am a sucker for being drawn to a book by its cover, and this was enough to interest me! I love the long hair, and I love the crouching position, almost mysterious.
On to the story. I like that Lyn is a strong heroine, and that she questions the standing rules and expectations. Her and the supporting characters are all well written and believable. She is questioning but she also has pride for Tommy- she is torn! I just feel for her in dealing with all of these men into and out of her life in such a tragic way, dealing with a difficult mother and a special needs brother. Luckily she does have her friend Mark and his family.
For the title and subject matter, I did expect more action, but the story was well paced regardless. I wish there was about 75 more pages to better explore the ending. I also wish that Uber would have been explored a little more, and the chemistry between them even though Lyn, understandably, does not want to be forced into marriage. I love the unexpected and it sure is with him-- a hulking gladiator hero that is near blind and has a soft spot.. aww.

Similar reads: Hunger Games, Maze Runner, Graceling, Numbers, Ice, Old Magic

I would love to hear what you think! Feel free to link your review.

No comments:

Post a Comment

I would love to hear from you! (I always try to visit your blog back) I love links, so feel free to link to your blog or a post you like.
Sorry, but I am award and tag free zone, I do not have the time to return. Comments are reward enough :)